Antonio Vivaldi "The Four Seasons"

Mischa Maisky, one of the most famous musicians born in Latvia, celebrated his 70th birthday this year. The outstanding musician is a Moscow Conservatory graduate and apparently is the only cellist who was taught by both Mstislav Rostropovich and Gregor Piatigorsky. Rostropovich expressed his admiration of his pupil by calling him '...one of the most distinguished talents of the new generation of cellists. In his performance, poeticism and an extraordinary class is met with a strong temperament and first-class technique"

As a Deutsche Grammophon artist for more than 25 years, he has made over 30 recordings, including many with such orchestras as the Vienna Philharmonic, Berlin Philharmonic, Orchestre de Paris, Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, Chamber Orchestra of Europe and many others.

The musician's recordings have received critical acclaim all over the world earning such prestigious prizes as the Japanese Record Academy Prize (five times), Echo Deutscher Schallplattenpreis (three times) Grand Prix du Disque and Diapason d’Or of the Year, as well as earning several Grammy nominations.

Once again the closing event of the Early music festival will be Antonio Vivaldi’s violing cycle The Four Seasons– one of the most popular classical opuses that has seen countless performances and interpretations across the globe. The four violin concertos were first published in 1725 in a collection named Il cimento dell'armonia e dell'inventioneor The trial of harmony and inventiveness. And indeed, this music never lacks harmony or inventiveness – Vivaldi has had a lot of fun with depicting scenes from the nature and everyday life, and putting them down as words on the score. Coded into the music is a tepmer and fullness of colors that lets the imagination run freely, but it does require a brilliant technique of performance and lively musicality. This time, alongside the chamber orchestra Kremerata Baltica we’ll hear the youthfully energetic and maturely emotional violin performance of Dmitry Sinkovsky.



Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741) Concerto for strings in G major, RV 151 (Alla rustica)

Antonio Vivaldi Concerto for two cellos g minor, RV 531

Soloists – Mischa Maisky and Vyacheslav Mariniuk


Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805) Sinfonia d minor, G.517

Luigi Boccherini Cello concerto in D major, G. 479

Soloist - Mischa Maisky


Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741) "Four Seasons"

Soloist – Dmitry Sinkovsky


Mischa Maisky, cello

Vyacheslav Mariniuk, cello

State Chamber Orchestra “Moscow Virtuosi”

Dmitry Sinkovsky, violin
Chamber orchestra Kremerata Baltica